Scholastic Canada | Dear Canada - Make History Your Own

Dear Canada: A step back in time


Read a letter from the author

Karleen Bradford

Karleen Bradford is the award-winning author of 24 books for children and young adults. Her topics include historical fiction, fantasy and non-fiction. Her historical novel, There Will be Wolves, won the CLA Young Adult Canadian Book Award, was selected by the Children's Librarians of the Toronto Public Library as "One of the 100 Best Canadian Books for Today's Children and Teens," and received an American Library Association Best Book citation. Other awards include the Saskatchewan Young Readers' Choice Shining Willow Award and her books have been shortlisted for the Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction, the Manitoba Young Readers' Choice Award, the OLA Silver Birch Award and the Red Cedar Award.

Karleen has always tried to travel to the places she writes about while researching her books. While writing With Nothing But Our Courage, she travelled through Lake Champlain into Qu├ębec and up the St. Lawrence along the route Mary MacDonald and her family would have taken. For A Desperate Road to Freedom, she visited Virginia and mapped out the trail Julia May and her family might have followed to Canada.

Dear Canada books by Karleen Bradford:

  • Desparate Road to Freedom
  • With Nothing but Our Courage
  • Country of Our Own

Check out Karleen Bradford's other books.


I am so very proud to be part of the phenomenon that is the Dear Canada series. When I meet the young people who have read the books and hear the enthusiasm and excitement in their voices when they talk about the stories they have read in these books, I know how immensely important this series is. No longer "a bunch of dates and dead people," our history has come alive for them in vibrant detail.