Simone Breaks All the Rules | Scholastic Canada

Our Books

Simone Breaks All the Rules

By Debbie Rigaud   

Scholastic Inc. | ISBN 9781338681727 Hardcover
320 Pages | 5.825" x 8.544" | Ages 12 & Up

Scholastic Inc. | ISBN 9781338681734 Ebook
320 Pages | Ages 12 & Up

Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in a Crown and To All the Boys I've Loved Before, this hilarious and heartfelt Own Voices rom-com from bestselling author Debbie Rigaud is pure Black girl joy.

Simone Thibodeaux is about to switch things up.

Check her life: It’s sealed in a boy-proof container. Her Haitian immigrant parents send Simone to an all-girls high school and enforce strict no-dating rules. As for prom? Simone is allowed to go on one condition: Her parents will select her date (a boy from a nice, Haitian immigrant family, obviously).

Simone is desperate to avoid the setup — especially since she has a serious crush on another boy. It's time to take action. Simone and her fellow late-bloomer friends make a senior year bucket list of all the wild things they haven't done yet. Like: going out dancing, skipping class (what), and oh yeah — deciding their own prom destinies.

But as the list takes on a life of its own, things get much messier than Simone expected. Can she figure out which rules are worth breaking and which might save her from heartbreak?

Raves & reviews:

Praise for Simone Breaks All the Rules:

"Simone is a wonderfully crafted character, and Rigaud uses the awkwardness of the late bloomers' attempts to be cool with perfect comedic timing. This is a great depiction of Haitian American culture that both affirms and informs. Offering a steady mix of romance and humor, this is a home run." — Kirkus Reviews

"We need more rom-coms like this! Hilarious and relatable, with a romance that will make you swoon, and a twist that I did not see coming." — Tami Charles, New York Times bestselling author of All Because You Matter and Muted

"Simone is the friend we wished we had growing up — to laugh with, cry with, sneak out the house with, and see ourselves in. Simone Breaks All the Rules strolls boldly into your heart and stays there long after the final page." — Maika and Maritza Moulite, authors of Dear Haiti, Love Alaine and One of the Good Ones

"As specifically Haitian and universally relatable as it gets. Simone is an instant star. Her heartbreaks are as heartwarming and cheer-worthy as her victories." — Ben Philippe, award-winning author of Charming as a Verb