The Poetry of Secrets | Scholastic Canada

Our Books

The Poetry of Secrets

By Cambria Gordon   

Scholastic Inc. | ISBN 9781338634181 Hardcover
416 Pages | Ages 12 & Up

Scholastic Inc. | ISBN 9781338634198 Ebook
416 Pages | Ages 12 & Up

Perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein, this lyrical portrait of hidden identities and forbidden love is set against the harrowing backdrop of the Spanish Inquisition.

Isabel Perez carries secrets with her every day.

As a young woman in 1481, Trujillo, Spain, she should be overjoyed that the alguacil of the city wants to marry her, especially since she and her family are conversos — Jews forced to convert to Catholicism — leaving them low in the hierarchy of the new Spanish order. Yet she longs to pursue an independent life filled with poetry and a partner of her own choosing: Diego Altamirano, a young nobleman whose family would never let him court someone with tainted blood like hers.

But Isabel's biggest secret is this: Though the Perezes claim to be New Christians, they still practice Judaism in the refuge of their own home. When the Spanish Inquisition reaches her small town determined to punish such judaizers, Isabel finds herself in more danger than she could ever have imagined. Amid the threat of discovery, she and Diego will have to fight for their lives in a quest to truly be free.

A timeless love story about identity, religious intolerance, and female empowerment, The Poetry of Secrets will sweep readers away with its lush lyricism and themes that continue to resonate today.