The Feeling of Falling in Love | Scholastic Canada
Our Books

The Feeling of Falling in Love

By Mason Deaver   

Scholastic Inc. | ISBN 9781338777666 Hardcover
336 Pages | 5.832" x 8.533" | Ages 14 & Up

Scholastic Inc. | ISBN 9781338777680 Ebook
352 Pages | Ages 14 & Up

From the bestselling author of I Wish You All the Best, comes a new kind of love story, about the bad decisions we sometimes make... and the people who help get us back on the right path.

Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston and What If It's Us by Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli.

Just days before spring break, Neil Kearney is set to fly across the country with his childhood friend (and current friend-with-benefits) Josh, to attend his brother's wedding—until Josh tells Neil that he's in love with him and Neil doesn't return the sentiment.

With Josh still attending the wedding, Neil needs to find a new date to bring along. And, almost against his will, roommate Wyatt is drafted.

At first, Wyatt (correctly) thinks Neil is acting like a jerk. But when they get to LA, Wyatt sees a little more of where it's coming from. Slowly, Neil and Wyatt begin to understand one another… and maybe, just maybe, fall in love for the first time…

Raves & reviews:

Praise for The Ghosts We Keep:

One of Buzzfeed's Best Books of June

* "An unflinchingly honest story that doesn’t shy away from the complex emotions of grief but also offers a hopeful path forward... [An] emotional, character-driven journey" — Booklist, starred review

"As heart-expanding as it is heartbreaking" — Publishers Weekly

"Offers an honest look at the messy, overwhelming experience of coping with sudden loss." — School Library Journal

"[The Ghosts We Keep] is outstanding, maybe the best take on grief I've ever seen in a YA novel." — Shannon Jones, Scuppernong Books

Praise for I Wish You All the Best:

"Heartfelt, romantic, and quietly groundbreaking. This book will save lives." — Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

"Tender and bursting with humanity, I Wish You All the Best tells a heartwarming queer love story without compromise." — Meredith Russo, Stonewall Award-winning author of If I Was Your Girl

"A beacon of hope in a broken world. We all need this book." — Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

"Emotional and heartfelt... This is the sort of novel that goes beyond being important; it has the potential to save and change lives." — Kacen Callender, Stonewall Award-winning author of Hurricane Child and This is Kind of an Epic Love Story

"I Wish You All the Best reminds us that, when we open up to love, we have the capacity to become our most authentic selves." — Adib Khorram, Morris and APALA Award-winning author of Darius the Great is Not Okay

"A truly unique and beautiful debut." — Adi Alsaid, author of Let's Get Lost

"Profoundly poignant and often swoon-worthy... a stunning gift to the world." — Jay Coles, author of Tyler Johnson Was Here

"An important and inspiring novel about identity, acceptance, friendship, familial relationships, and the people who become your family." — Sabina Khan, author of The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali and Zara Hossain is Here

"A soft, sweet, and incredibly important story about a nonbinary teen finding their voice. This book is going to be so important to so many people." — Alice Oseman, author of Radio Silence and Heartstopper

"A welcome addition to the growing body of LGBTQIAP+ literature." — Booklist

"An honest coming-of-age and coming-out story... Deaver's treatment of Ben's nonbinary identity creates a realistic portrayal of their journey toward self-acceptance... through sympathetic characters and a hopeful narrative of empowerment." — Kirkus Reviews

"A powerful illustration of the ways that compassion and love can overcome intolerance." —Publishers Weekly

"Deaver shows us that love, like gender, is fluid and nonbinary." — NPR